Joker Game | Anime Review

Joker Game is an anime that came out last year during the spring season.

This show was also probably one of the main highlights of that season and therefore, I decided to give it a chance.


Story line

In autumn of 1937, as the coals of World War II are beginning to smolder, Lt. Col. Yuuki of the Imperial Army secretly establishes a spy training organization called the “D Agency.” Those chosen as members of the agency, in opposition to the national trend toward reverence of native-born soldiers in the army, are civilian university graduates who pass the superhuman selection test with flying colors. Under the resourceful Lieutenant Colonel Yuuki, they learn not only how to work with gunpowder, wireless communications, vehicles, and airplanes, but also various skills essential for spies…

 Each episode holds a different story line which is lead by a different character. If you are into psychological mysteries then this is a great show to get into. However, although I enjoyed the individual stories, I found them hard to figure out on my own and I also felt as if one episode was two quick to put together what and how something happened. In my opinion, I feel as if the story would’ve been better if the chapter was at least 2 episodes long.

Animation

Link to Original Image.

The animation was truly spectacular and it did really fit the theme of the World War II time period. I also really liked the landscaping and the architecture designs as they were heavily detailed and allowed viewers to feel more immersed within each episode.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

Each spy is very smart, realistic and of course, mysterious. The only problem I had was that I felt as if each spy was like a replicate of one another as they all had the same personality so it made some of the episodes a little bit dull but other than that, I really enjoyed what each character had to offer. Personally, I really enjoyed Tazaki’s episode the most (ep 6) as I loved the classical spy vibe he brought off and his episode was really intriguing with the whole assassination mission.


Overall…

I would give this anime…

Image result for 4/5 stars


Thank you for reading.

 

Click here to go to my Facebook page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

Leave a Reply

