Free! Eternal Summer | Anime Review

Following on from their hit first season, the fans of Free! demanded heavily for a second season, which was received back in the summer of 2014 and oh boy did it receive so much hype.

After watching the first season, I decided to endeavour into this season to see if my opinion of the show had improved.

Here are my thoughts!


Story Line

After the last swimming competition, the bonds between Haru, Makoto, Nagisa and Rei have greatly deepened. With each passing day, each member continued to grow. Rin tries to overcome his past and, with the help of his new teammates, aims to create the strongest swim team yet. Holding on to their ambitions, they face themselves and welcome the new summer!

I preferred the story of this show a lot more compared to the first season as I felt like it was started and executed a lot better and there wasn’t a lot of petty drama compared to Iwatobi Swim Club. In addition, I loved some of the short stories of each individual character, such as the episode where Makoto was asked to be a swimming instructor for the children. As a result, I felt the story had improved and was more entertaining to watch.

Animation

Link to Original Image.

The animation is absolutely stunning especially during the swimming scenes and during the competitions. I also feel as if they have improved the ‘bishi’ look animation when animating the characters as their bodies look more proportionate compared to the first season.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

I felt more attached to the characters in Eternal Summer than I did in Iwatobi Swim Club as I was able to get to know the characters better as the plot progressed. Even though I loved the back stories the first season showed, I much preferred the smaller episodes dedicated to each individual as the isolation allowed me to relate to them more as I saw what they were like without all their friends next to them.


Overall..

I would give this anime…

Related image


Thank you for reading.

 

Click here to go to my Facebook page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

Leave a Reply

