Ao No Exorcist 2 | Anime Review

After a prolonged 6 year wait, the second season of Ao No Exorcist (aka Blue Exorcist) graced our screens back in January at the start of this year, 2017. Ao No Exorcist is probably one of my favourite shows inside the whole shounen genre and it made me so happy to find out that a new season had been produced.

Here is my review.


Story Line

In the late Edo Period, a demon known as the Impure King killed thousands of people. After defeating the demon, the Knights of the True Cross kept its left eye safely sealed away on Academy grounds – but now someone has stolen it! Hearing the thief has taken a child hostage, Yukio and Rin go to help. The investigation and pursuit will lead Rin and his friends to Kyoto and involve them even deeper in a sinister plot! But will his friends’ knowledge that Rin is the son of Satan drive a wedge between them?

 For those of you that are unaware, Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Saga takes place when Rin’s fellow classmates have found out that he is a demon, and more or less, the son of Satan himself. At first, I was a bit unsure as to why the producers did this but in the end, it made more sense and allowed the characters to develop a lot within this series whereas, in the first season, I remember the show being very quick paced and not a lot of minor details were covered.
Moving on to this story, I liked the way it was cleverly written and how it constantly made me want to find out what was going to happen next. In addition, I also thought that the way some of the students judged Rin based on the fact that he was a demon was quite true to real life in some retrospect as his classmates judged him based on his appearance rather than his playful, caring personality.

Animation

Link to Original Image.

The animation hasn’t changed from the previous season. I love the use of deep block colours to create an action-packed feel to the art style which blends in well with the story as well as the personality of the characters. Even though it may not be the most spotless animation, I still deemed it to be excellent as shounen anime tends to follow along like sheep with a very generic art style that is similar to almost every show.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

One of the aspects that I admired from the first season is the very heart warming, attachable characters. Yes I know some people may find Shiemi to be useless and Ryuji to be a stick in the mud but I just found almost every character (apart from Izumo) to be great to be with and learn more about. Moreover,  Rin is a character that I remember just completely falling in love with at the start of this whole story and to see him upset in the prison cell just made me want to go through the screen and hug him.


Overall…

I would give this anime…


Thank you for reading.

 

 

 

Click here to go to my Facebook Page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

Leave a Reply

