Mirai Nikki | Anime Review

Mirai Nikki is a popular anime that came out back in 2011 and became one of the mainstream shows that is loved excessively across the globe. As a result, I decided to watch this and discuss my opinions in a review type format.

Let’s get started!


This review may contain spoilers!

Storyline

Yuki is a disaffected middle school boy who has no dreams or goals in life; in fact, the only thing he has is his diary. Writing down everything he observes and documenting every thought, the young boy uses it as an outlet for his imagination. One morning, however, Yuki wakes up to find his cell phone filled with diary entries for the next ninety days. Thinking nothing of it, he continues his morning until he begins to realize that everything on his phone is rapidly coming to pass, and it isn’t just mere coincidence. Now, Yuki suddenly finds himself thrust into a survival game against other future diary owners to become the new Lord of Time.

 The storyline is very different from other shows that I have seen and I have to say, I thought the concept was cleverly thought out. However, I did think the story was predictable in some places and it was easy to see who was going to win in the end. If you’re into films such as The Hunger Games then I would recommend Mirai Nikki as the concept is also based around the theme of survival.

Animation

 

Link to Original Image.

 

I really enjoyed viewing the visuals even though they weren’t as high quality as I expected them to be. However, this didn’t lower the quality of the show in my opinion.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

In my opinion, I think the characters are what brought the show down as most of them were either really annoying or were just useless. This has probably been one of the few shows where I absolutely detested the main character (Yuki) as I feel as if he wasn’t worthy enough of winning the game at the end. This is because I believed that he didn’t make much progression throughout the series and even though he knew people were going to try to kill him, he didn’t train himself in order to defeat them and instead just relied heavily on the second diary owner (Yuno) to do all of his dirty work for him. In the end, I just gave up with Yuki and ended up watching it for Minene – the ninth diary owner- as she seemed to be the most realistic and fascinating character out of everyone in the show.


Overall…

I would give this anime…


Thank you for reading.

 

 

Click here to go to my Facebook Page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

One thought on “Mirai Nikki | Anime Review

  1. I agree that the characters, Yuki in particular, are the worst part of this anime. I didn’t care much for Yuno either. Minene was the most tolerable out of the lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

