91 Days | Anime Review

91 Days is a thriller anime that came out in the summer of 2016 and caught my eye when I saw the immense number of reviews pop up on my reader.

After having a busy autumn and winter term, I finally found the time to settle down and watch what was said to be one of the best shows of 2016.

As a result, here is my review!


Storyline

During Prohibition, the law held no power and the mafia ruled the town. The story takes place in Lawless, a town thriving on black market sales of illicitly brewed liquor. One day, Avilio receives a letter from a mysterious sender, prompting him to return to Lawless for revenge. He then infiltrates the Vanetti family, the ones responsible for his family’s murder, and sets about befriending the don’s son, Nero, to set his vengeance in motion. Killing brings more killing, and revenge spawns more revenge. How will the 91-day story of these men guided by a tragic fate end?

 I’m so exhilarated that I managed to watch this as the story was something I had never seen previously done. Yes, you may agree that the topic of revenge tends to crop up in other shows, however, the way the plot was executed made it very hard to refrain from going on to the next episode as I was constantly intrigued as to what would happen next. I think one of the reasons the story was good was the intense amount of plot twists that appeared in the show which covered topics such as betrayal and conflict between the three mafia houses. Not only that but, the ending was very open to interpretation and gave viewers the opportunity to theorise what happened to the main character as it was unclear as to what happened, this allowed the story to carry on that mysterious attribute throughout the whole series.

Animation

Link to Original Image.

The animation in this show was spectacular and allowed the viewer to feel more immersed in the program which displayed accurate contextual details that were relevant to the period of time. Aspects such as natural hair colour and a variety of body shapes allowed the story to feel more realistic which made it easier to feel an attachment to the characters.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

I would love to go into great detail about each character in the show as they were extremely interesting to study and watch, however, I don’t think I will have enough time in this post. Like I said, nearly all of the characters in this show are very fascinating to watch as they bear realistic personalities and are all likeable in some way. One of my favourite characters in the show was Corteo as he was the complete opposite of most of the characters that were involved as he was the only one who was a pacifist who despised the idea of mafia houses and revenge and it made it refreshing to see someone who was able to relate with the viewer on a personal level.


Overall…

I would give this anime…


Thank you for reading.

 

Click here to go to my Facebook Page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

Leave a Reply

