Kaleido Star | Anime Review

Kaleido Star came out back in 2003 and I saw this while watching a YouTube video and it encouraged me to give the show a watch.

Here is my review


Story Line

Sora is a sixteen year old girl who has travelled to the US to join the Kaleido Stage, one of the greatest circuses in existence. However, as luck would have it, she arrives to the audition late, which almost costs her the chance of a lifetime. Fortunately, she manages to join the Kaleido Stage anyways due to the compassion of Kalos, the owner of the troupe. With the help of her friends and Fool, the perverted spirit of the stage who has the ability to predict the future, Sora will overcome trials and tribulations and she struggles to become the Kaleido Star.

 This story is all about following your dreams and staying determined to stay on and not give up. I really like the premise of this show as it shows viewers that in order to be successful, you have to work hard and aim towards something/someone you can be like. In addition to this, I also enjoyed the aspect of the circus and all of its acts as it allowed everyone to be amazed by the acts even when sitting at home on your sofa, it felt like you were live in the audience watching all the spectacular acts and colours fly past your face.

Animation

Link to Original Image.

I really enjoyed the visuals as they were bright and cheerful and allowed us, the viewer to feel more immersed within the show itself as loads of loud colours flew past your face as you were excitedly watching all of the stunning acts perform on stage. Not only that but, the animation was a very stereotypical 2000’s animation style which usually reminds me of shows such as Clannad and Air as they to share a similar art style to this show – Kaleido Stage.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

In my opinion, the first half of the anime was a lot better than the second half as all the characters had their own little stories and even the villains were still very nice to be with. During the second half, this was probably intended but the two new characters that were introduced – May and Leon- made me want to pull my hair out. Leon wasn’t as bad, but May’s constant rivalry towards Sora just made me want to punch her as she gave me a headache every time I saw her.


Overall…

I would give this anime…


Thank you for reading.
I hope you have a wonderful day.
-ShowerOfSunshine
One thought on “Kaleido Star | Anime Review

  1. Oh my gosh. I’m feeling so nostalgic right now. Watched this during my early teens and I really enjoyed it then. I don’t think I’ll enjoy it as much if I rewatched it now, but I have good memories watching this. Even made me interested in gymnastics.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

