How I Got Into Anime

Every single person on this planet that likes Anime always gets asked one of a few questions by either non-anime viewers or even veterans that have been interested in the medium for a very long time.

That question is ‘How did you get into Anime?’

Now, each individual story told by each person is different from the rest so I would love to hear how you got into anime down in the comments below, but first, let’s here how I got into the wonderful world of kawaii girls and tentacles.


It all started when I was a little child around the age of seven when I was actually allowed to stay up past my bedtime (lucky me!) and came across this show known as Mew Mew Power (or Tokyo Mew Mew) and I was absolutely hooked on the show! I remember pretending to play as the characters from the show at school even though I didn’t have any clue what anime was – I always used to play as Renee/Zakuro as she was my favourite out of the 5.It became one of my favourite children’s TV shows ( I ended up watching the full 50 episodes when I was 13 and it gave me so much nostalgia)

Link to Original Image.

Fast forward a number of years later when I was around the age of 12, I was talking to my friend Deanne, who is still a massive anime fan to this day, and I remember the conversation going something like this.

Deanne: I’m gonna go and watch some anime now.

Me: Um, isn’t anime that Japanese stuff? Also, how do you watch it, is it on tv or?

Deanne: No no no, I watch it on (insert website here).

Me: Cool! What should I start with

Deanne: *insert 2 page list of anime to watch*

Me: Wow. That’s a lot, what’s like your favourite anime?

Deanne: FAIRYTAIL, I LOVE FAIRYTAIL

Me: Oh okay…

Thanks to her I fell down the never-ending spiral of Hell and began my addiction for Anime and also for Fairytail (which I then gave up because there are too many episodes). I even ended up doing a presentation on Fairytail at school as I loved it so much.

Link to Original Image.

Anime is a medium that has shown me a wider view on the world of fiction (and some non-fiction) and has brought me some of the most tear-jerking, inspiring scenes that I haven’t experienced through reading a book or watching tv shows, that is one of the main reasons as to why I really love anime.


Thank you for reading.

 

Click here to go to my Facebook page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

7 thoughts on “How I Got Into Anime

  1. Your friend’s awesome for lighting up your interest for watching other anime besides Mew Mew. As for me, I literally can’t remember a time when I wasn’t watching anime. It’s been a huge part of my life. I used to watch it with my family, especially my dad who would watch it with his friends he invited just so they could watch in our house. He doesn’t really watch anime anymore unless I force him to watch with me. He’s stuck during the DBZ & Yu Yu Hakusho generation. My friends and classmates also used to talk about the latest anime episode on TV when I was a child, so anime was so normal that when I moved here to Canada, I was quite shocked that only a small percentage of children know or watch anime. Fortunately, I still continued watching and here I am today. Anime has connected us anibloggers together. Good post. Very relatable. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting, my parents aren’t really keen on anime and just tend to leave me to my own devices. However, my mum does like some of the Studio Ghibli films I have forced her to watch with me. The most recent one we watched together was ‘When Marnie Was There’ and she said she really enjoyed the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Funny, you and I have a similar story.
    I started with the children’s classics, Pokemon, yu-Gi-Oh, even Hamtaro, the anime I watch before I even knew what anime was. That started the journey to watching Fairy Tail, Inuyasha, Black Butler, and many others.
    Today, I’m still a huge anime fan, and even write my own novelettes inspired by the medium!
    Thank you for sharing your story, and remember…
    Stay Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s great to know your experience. It all started when I was 4 years young and there was only one access for me to watch anime, that is Television. The very first anime I watched was Ninja Senshi Tobikage, an old mecha series which was broadcast in our local TV network. I had to endure every single day because I had to wait patiently for another episode the next day, and that was the real excitement during that era of animation. My childhood revolves around watching various anime on TV, mostly those popular shounen titles during my generation such as Yuyu Hakusho, Dragon Ball, Flame of Recca and Slam Dunk.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mew Mew Power was a far more wholesome start than I had, at least in terms of stuff that I KNEW was anime. For me, I knowingly bought anime when our local second hand VHS shop had a bunch on sale. I picked up Ghost in the Shell, Akira, Fist of the North Star, Ninja Scroll and Project A-Ko, and shortly after borrowed Tenchi Muyo. I would have been about 11, and the shop shouldn’t have sold them to me.

    After watching those to death, I didn’t see any new anime until about ten years ago when my youngest daughter was born. Staying up doing a night feed, I stumbled upon the now defunct Anime Channel. From there, I discovered Bleach and .Hack//SIGN, and my love for the medium was reborn.

    As a side, some of my older viewing habits were also technically anime: Lost Cities of Gold, Samurai Pizza Cats and the original Thundercats can all be classed as such to one degree or another. Then, there was Digimon, Pokemon and Cardcaptor Sakura. So, I was actually watching from a younger age and just didn’t know it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

