Anohana | Anime Review

Anohana is an emotional slice of life anime that caught my eye a couple of months ago when I finished sobbing my eyes out from Plastic Memories. The shows followed similar traits but were each unique in their own way.

Here is my review of Anohana.


This post will contain spoilers!

Story Line

Long ago, young Meiko Honma tragically died and her tight-knit group of friends, shaken by the event, drifted apart. Now, ten years later, Meiko has re-appeared as a ghost that only Jinta, the former leader of the gang and an avid shut-in, can see. All she desires is for Jinta to fulfill her final wish so that she can move on to the afterlife, but with no memory of what it was, it’s up to the teenager to gather his former friends and discover what will allow his beloved friend to rest in peace. With so many feelings left unsaid, can this group work out their strife and help the ghost of the girl they once adored?

I was notified from various different people who told me that this show was one of the saddest shows they had ever seen, however in my opinion, I didn’t see the concept as sad, but more frustrating in some areas. For example, I thought the plot was dragged out too much, especially up to episode 7 where Menma actually proves she exists to Jintan’s other friends, I mean if you were a ghost and someone said they could see you, wouldn’t you just started throwing random items around to prove that you exist? In contrary to that, I did manage to sob a few tears during the last episode as it showed viewers that people are selfish and would wish for someone’s death over a little petty reason and this basically wants the viewers to stop thinking like that and see everyone as a living, breathing, individual.


Animation

Link to Original Image.

The animation was fairly basic and didn’t capture my heart all that much. Overall, this didn’t have any effect on the overall story, so I’m not going to comment much about it.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

I liked how the show portrayed each individual as having changed slightly as they got older, similar to real life. Some of the characters were a tad annoying, especially Atsumu, but there weren’t any main characters that I truly hated as they were all trying to solve their drama and keep their friendship group at peace.


Overall

Overall, I would give this anime…


Thank you for reading.

 

Click here to go to my Facebook page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

Leave a Reply

