Yuri!!! On Ice | Anime Review

I feel like I’m a bit late to the bandwagon but I finally managed to find time to watch Yuri!!! On Ice. Therefore, like almost every other anime blogger, I will also be sharing my thoughts on this show in this post you are currently reading.

Let’s get started!


Storyline

Yuuri Katsuki carried the hope of all Japan on his shoulders in the Figure Skating Grand Prix, but suffered a crushing defeat in the finals. He returned to his hometown in Kyushu and hid away in his family’s home, half wanting to continue skating and half wanting to retire. That was when the five-time consecutive world champion, Viktor Nikiforov, suddenly showed up with his teammate, Yuuri Plisetsky, a young skater starting to surpass his seniors. And so the two Yuuris and the Russian champion Viktor set out to compete in a Grand Prix like none the world has ever seen!

During the first episode, I thought the story was going to be very generic and would be like other anime that I have seen but with ice skating. However, I was captivated instantly during the second episode as it also gave me an insight to the world of ice skating. Not only that but, I also liked the balance between story and sport as there was a good mix. I am usually not a fan of sport anime due to the fact that the sport aspect usually gets repetitive and boring. But, this wasn’t like that as it felt like everyone had a fair chance of winning and there weren’t any characters that you could expect to be topping the rest.


Animation

Link to Original Image.

The animation in this show was very generic. The only thing that stood out for me was the use of good animation during the routines as it flowed nicely and made me feel like I was watching the sport.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

I loved almost every character in the show, which caused me to re watch a few episodes as I just really enjoyed spending time with them because their personalities reminded me of people in real life which allowed me to relate to the characters.


Overall

Overall I would give this anime…

Tell me what you think about Yuri!!! On Ice in the comments down below.


Thank you for reading.

 

Click here to go to my Facebook Page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

One thought on “Yuri!!! On Ice | Anime Review

Leave a Reply

