Fruits Basket | Anime Review

Fruits Basket has been in my watch books for ages now, it was only a couple of weeks ago when my friend reminded me that I still needed to watch this show. I also wanted to see if the show really lived up to its name and wasn’t overhyped like most of the really popular anime shows are.

Here are my thoughts on Fruits Basket.


Story line

Tohru Honda is a compassionate girl who is down on her luck. Her mother having recently died, she has been forced to camp out in the woods for shelter. However, things start to turn around once she is invited to live with class hunk Yuki Sohma and his family… but all is not as it seems! Yuki’s family is burdened with a dark curse which causes them to turn into the animals of the Chinese zodiac once hugged by a member of the opposite sex… and Honda may be the only one who can help them.

From the get go, I thought that this show was going to be your classic cliche slice of life anime but as the story progressed I realised there was more to this show than that. Most of the topics discussed in this show are usually relatable to aspects of real life. Not to mention that Fruits Basket has a ton of helpful messages and quotes to motivate victims of jealousy and bullying etc. If you are looking for a warm,fuzzy anime to watch when you are ill or upset, Fruits Basket is definitely a great choice.


Animation

Link to Original Image.

The anime was released in 2001 so the animation is a bit dated, however it does bring nostalgic vibes to the anime fans that have been around a lot longer than the generation I am in. The classic tropes of big eyes and short noses is seen a lot throughout this show.


Characters

Link to Original Image

Most of the characters that you will see are the members of the Sohma family – aka the family that turn into the animals from the Chinese zodiac. Each member is very different from one another and they have the stereotype of each of the zodiac signs. I share my Chinese Zodiac with Hatori , the dragon/seahorse and I like trying to compare my personality traits with his. Apart from the antagonist, most of the characters are very lovable and easy to become attached to – especially Kisa, that girl is adorable!


Overall

Overall, I would give this anime…


Thank you for reading

 

Click here to go to my Facebook page.

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

One thought on “Fruits Basket | Anime Review

Leave a Reply

