Shiki | Anime Review

Shiki is a mysterious, horror anime about a village in which death seems to occur almost everyday. As of this, the town’s doctor has to figure out why all of these people are dying so suddenly and if there is a cure for the ‘illness’ that they are suffering from.

I thought the concept of the anime was quite interesting and so I decided to give you my thoughts on this show.


Story Line

Encased by trees that are used to make grave markers, Sotoba is a village thought to be surrounded by death – a fact that soon literally becomes the case. One summer, a series of mysterious and untimely fatalities begins to plague the small rural town. With a higher than normal mortality rate for the time of year and each cause of passing remaining unknown, Toshio, the local doctor, and Seishin the temple’s vice chief monk become suspicious and take it upon themselves to investigate. However, as the deaths begin to pile up, more people begin to wonder just what is behind this sudden epidemic; could it have anything to do with the bizarre Kirishiki family that recently moved to the village?

 I really enjoyed taking in the anime’s plot as it was a great one to discuss theories about certain characters and what is happening, which is one thing I always like about the mystery and horror genre. Unfortunately, I did think the story started off at a very slow pace, as it only seemed to pick up at around episode 6 or later. In addition to this, I also thought that the ending was a bit rushed and it was left on a cliffhanger which is probably done to encourage viewers to read the manga, however, I felt more irritated than encouraged to do this.

Animation

Link to Original Image.

One thing I loved about this anime was the wild and wacky hair physics. There was hair that went everywhere and still managed to make the character look very appealing to the audience. Other than that, I thought the art style was a bit mediocre and I think the eyes should’ve looked similar with all of the characters as it kind of annoyed me when certain characters were being treated with respect and everything turned out to be a massive disaster as it was obvious that they weren’t like the other villagers.


Characters

Link to Original Image.

All of the characters, apart from at least 3 or 4, were extremely stupid, so stupid that I felt my IQ dropping everything they appeared on the screen. However, I did think this was done in order to create a realistic vibe as it would take more than a couple of months for us to be able to believe what the cause of all the deaths actually is. I really loved the role of the doctor as he was very daring and had to sacrifice a lot in order to save the town from completely wiping out.


Overall

Overall, I would give this anime


Thank you for reading.

 

Click here to go to my homepage.

 

I hope you have a wonderful day.

-ShowerOfSunshine

One thought on “Shiki | Anime Review

  1. I didn’t really feel that this was a cliff-hanger ending. Certainly they left a few points open but the essential battle for the town is pretty much resolved.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

